Category: Experience, Sights

Our Lady of the Belfry

In VI c., when Byzantium govern Diocletian’s palace, guardian corrridors above entrances are turned into small churches. So the passage above western Icon gate was dedicated to Saint Theodor. He was guardian of soldiers. In 11th c. church above Icon Gate is get bell-tower, one of the oldest on Adriatic. This church is first time mentioned in 1275.y. under St:Theodor name, and name “Our Lady of the Belfry” is getting its name after one of most important icons of our Middle Age painting, made by unknown master, somewhere between 1270. and 1290. This worthy painthing is today kept in Treasury of Cathedral.

Comments